- Associated Press - Thursday, May 26, 2016

OKLAHOMA CITY (AP) - Federal disaster assistance has been approved for five Oklahoma counties hit by severe storms, tornadoes and flooding earlier this month.

Gov. Mary Fallin said Thursday that the U.S. Small Business Administration has agreed to provide low-interest disaster loans to homeowners and business owners in Murray County to replace property not covered by insurance or other programs that was damaged by storms May 9-13.

The program also helps businesses that sustained storm-related economic injury.

Under SBA rules, the contiguous counties of Carter, Pontotoc, Garvin and Johnston are also eligible for assistance.

Damage assessments indicate there were 79 homes and businesses affected by the storms in Murray County. Of those, 32 were destroyed or had major damage. Another 14 homes were affected in Garvin County. Two were destroyed or had major damage.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide