- Associated Press - Monday, May 30, 2016

FLINT, Mich. (AP) - A monthlong chamber music series kicks off this week at the Flint Institute of Music.

The four-concert, 2016 Chamber Music Series starts Friday with music for piano and strings. The program includes works by Romantic Era composers Anton Arensky and Gabriel Faure.

The series continues on successive Fridays: June 10 will feature music for woodwinds performed by the Poulenc Sextet and June 17 features music for strings by the Mendelssohn Octet. The final performance is June 24 and features music for brass and percussion by the Bernstein Dance Suite.

All performances are free and held in the institute’s MacArthur Hall.

The series is presented by the Flint School of Performing Arts and Flint Symphony Orchestra. It’s sponsored by the Patricia Cumings Dort and the David T. Dort funds.

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Manage Newsletters

Copyright © 2021 The Washington Times, LLC.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide