- Associated Press - Tuesday, May 31, 2016

BATON ROUGE, La. (AP) - Penalties could grow for disobeying state laws that ban texting or posting to social media sites while driving and that restrict cell phone use for young drivers, under a bill heading to the governor.

Violators currently face traffic fines of up to $175 for the first offense and up to $500 for second and subsequent violations.

Baton Rouge Sen. Yvonne Dorsey Colomb’s bill would increase those fines to up to $500 for a first offense and up to $1,000 for additional violations. Drivers under 18 could face license suspension for up to 60 days for second and later violations.

The Senate gave the bill final passage with a 34-2 vote Monday, agreeing to a House change that carved $25 from each fine for public defenders.

___

Senate Bill 91: www.legis.la.gov

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times is switching its third-party commenting system from Disqus to Spot.IM. You will need to either create an account with Spot.im or if you wish to use your Disqus account look under the Conversation for the link "Have a Disqus Account?". Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.

 

Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide