- The Washington Times - Thursday, May 5, 2016

A franchise-record 56 wins and the claiming of the Presidents’ Trophy have led to Washington Capitals coach Barry Trotz becoming one of three finalists for the Jack Adams Award, given annually to the coach who has “contributed the most to his team’s success.”

Trotz joins the Florida Panthers’ Gerard Gallant and the Dallas Stars’ Lindy Ruff, with the winner of the award to be named on June 22 during the NHL’s annual award show. The recipient is determined before the start of the playoffs each year by the NHL Broadcasters’ Association.

The Capitals averaged 3.02 goals per game and allowed 2.33 goals per game, with each mark ranking second in the league. They also had the second-ranked penalty kill, which shut down 85.2 percent of opponents’ advantages, and the fifth-ranked power play, which converted on 21.9 percent of all opportunities.

The coach of the Metropolitan Division team at the All-Star Game in January, Trotz was previously a finalist for the award on two occasions, finishing second in 2010 and third in 2011 while coaching the Nashville Predators. In his second season, Trotz could become the third Capitals coach to earn the honor, following Bryan Murray’s selection in 1984 and that of Bruce Boudreau in 2008.

• Zac Boyer can be reached at zboyer@washingtontimes.com.

Copyright © 2021 The Washington Times, LLC. Click here for reprint permission.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.

Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide