- Associated Press - Friday, May 6, 2016

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. (AP) - President Barack Obama has declared a disaster for a dozen Arkansas counties affected by severe weather in early March.

The White House announced the disaster declaration Friday for Arkansas, Ashley, Bradley, Calhoun, Chicot, Cleveland, Columbia, Desha, Lincoln, Ouachita, Phillips, and Prairie counties. The declaration allows federal aid for emergency work and repairs or replacement to buildings damaged in the stormy weather from March 8-13.

Severe storms, tornadoes, strong winds and flooding hit much of the state during that period. Gov. Asa Hutchinson previously issued a state disaster declaration for the affected areas.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency says additional disaster declarations may be issued as damage assessments continue.

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Manage Newsletters

Copyright © 2021 The Washington Times, LLC.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide