- Associated Press - Tuesday, November 15, 2016

SPRINGDALE, Ark. (AP) - Oklahoma quarterback Baker Mayfield, Washington State quarterback Luke Falk and Northwestern receiver Austin Carr are this year’s finalists for the Burlsworth Award, which honors the top college football player who began his career as a walk-on.

Mayfield is the 2015 winner of the award that’s named for former Arkansas offensive lineman Brandon Burlsworth, who worked his way from walk-on to All-American before being drafted by the Indianapolis Colts in 1999. He was killed in a car accident 11 days after the draft.

Mayfield has thrown for 3,212 yards with 33 touchdowns this season for the No. 8 Sooners, while Carr has 1,102 yards and 12 touchdowns for Northwestern. Falk has 3,610 yards passing and 33 touchdowns this season for No. 20 Washington State.

The winner will be named Dec. 5.

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Manage Newsletters

Copyright © 2021 The Washington Times, LLC.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide