- Associated Press - Saturday, November 19, 2016

TERRE HAUTE, Ind. (AP) - Villanova’s Patrick Tiernan won the men’s title and Missouri’s Karissa Schweizer claimed the women’s event at the NCAA Division I cross country championships Saturday.

Northern Arizona won the men’s team title and Oregon took the women’s.

Tiernen completed the 10-kilometer course in 29 minutes, 22 seconds. He defeated Syracuse’s Justyn Knight and Oregon’s Edward Cheserek, who fell to third after winning last year as a junior.

Northern Arizona got a fourth-place finish from Futsum Zienasellassie and an 11th-place finish from Matthew Baxter. They helped the Lumberjacks outlast runner-up Stanford and third-place finisher Syracuse.

On the women’s side, Schweizer finished the 6-kilometer course in 19:41. She edged out Michigan’s Erin Finn and Notre Dame’s Anna Rohrer.

Oregon won the title on the strength of fourth-place finisher Katie Rainsberger and 14th-place Alli Cash. The Ducks held off second-place Michigan and third-place Colorado.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide