- Associated Press - Tuesday, October 11, 2016

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. (AP) - Twelve communities throughout Arkansas will be honored for their volunteer efforts.

The Arkansas Department of Human Services announced Tuesday that this year’s recipients of the Arkansas Volunteer Community of the Year Award are: Benton, Bentonville, Cherokee Village, Clarkridge, Fayetteville, Greenbrier, Heber Springs, Little Rock, Maumelle, McNeil, Mountain Home and Van Buren.

The award is sponsored by the governor’s office, the Arkansas Municipal League and the Arkansas Department of Human Services Division of Community Service and Nonprofit Support.

The recipients will be honored at the Arkansas Municipal League’s winter conference in January, and the Arkansas State Highway and Transportation Department will provide signs to be placed along highways near the winning cities.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide