- Associated Press - Thursday, October 6, 2016

CHARLESTON, W.Va. (AP) - While a new law lets people 21 and older to carry covered-up guns without permits, Attorney General Patrick Morrisey says 16 states will recognize West Virginia’s expanded permits for 18- to 20-year-olds.

Morrisey says the states gave written assurances about provisional concealed carry permits for the 18- to 20-year-olds eligible under this year’s law. Previously, people needed to be 21 or older to get a state concealed carry permit.

They include Alabama, Arkansas, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Kentucky, Michigan, Missouri, Montana, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah and Wyoming.

There wasn’t, and still isn’t, a permit required for people 18 and older to open carry, like in a holster.

Though optional in state, West Virginia concealed carry permits for people 21 and older will still be acknowledged in 35 states.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times is switching its third-party commenting system from Disqus to Spot.IM. You will need to either create an account with Spot.im or if you wish to use your Disqus account look under the Conversation for the link "Have a Disqus Account?". Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide