- Associated Press - Saturday, September 3, 2016

ATLANTA (AP) - The Atlanta Falcons have reached the 53-man roster limit, placing cornerbacks Akeem King and DeMarcus Van Dyke on injured reserve and waiving quarterback Matt Simms.

King has a foot injury and Van Dyke has a concussion. The Falcons are left with Matt Ryan and Matt Schaub as the only quarterbacks on their roster.

The Falcons reached an injury settlement with running back Brandon Wilds, leaving Terron Ward as the third running back behind Devonta Freeman and Tevin Coleman.

Cornerback Jalen Collins will be on the reserve list as he serves a four-game suspension for violating the NFL policy on performance enhancing substances. Linebacker Tyler Starr will be waived/injured. The team is negotiating an injury settlement with fullback Will Ratelle.

The Falcons also waived defensive tackle Joey Mbu, wide receiver J.D. McKissic, safety Sharrod Neasman and tight end D.J. Tialavea.


AP NFL online: www.pro32.ap.org and www.twitter.com/AP_NFL

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Manage Newsletters

Copyright © 2020 The Washington Times, LLC.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide