- Associated Press - Tuesday, June 13, 2017

MINOT, N.D. (AP) - Minot residents who voted overwhelmingly to trim the size of their City Council are heading to the polls to elect a new six-member council.

The Minot Daily News reports (https://bit.ly/2rfo8Ft ) that the candidates are incumbent council members Mark Jantzer, Lisa Olson, Shaun Sipma, Shannon Straight, Kenton Kossan, David Shomento, Stephan Podrygula and newcomers Josh Wolsky and Edward Montez.

The top three vote-getters will hold office until June 2020. The next three vote-getters will serve until the June 2018 election. Going forward, terms will be for four years.

The city previously had 14 members elected from wards. The members will now be elected at-large.

The only poll in Tuesday’s election will be at the Minot Municipal Auditorium. It will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.


Information from: Minot Daily News, https://www.minotdailynews.com

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times is switching its third-party commenting system from Disqus to Spot.IM. You will need to either create an account with Spot.im or if you wish to use your Disqus account look under the Conversation for the link "Have a Disqus Account?". Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More

Click to Hide