- Associated Press - Monday, March 20, 2017

MINOT, N.D. (AP) - The oil boom has slowed in western North Dakota, but oil patch workers failing to register their vehicles in the state is still an issue.

The Highway Patrol wrote more than 3,000 citations between February 2016 and January of this year, the Minot Daily News (https://bit.ly/2mMCBSI ) reported from.

“Many people moving here don’t realize they are in violation, so we generally issue written warnings for this violation so they have time to get it corrected,” said Capt. John Klug of the Minot Police Department.

Sgt. Tim Coughlin with the North Dakota Highway Patrol said motorists are given a 90-day grace period for registering after moving to the state. He said most motorists are usually given a warning on a first offense.

Coughlin said some states require inspection of registered vehicles. If a motorist in North Dakota is found without a temporary registration during an inspection, it is considered an offense.

He said company vehicles are easier to identify than personal vehicles.

The fine for someone who lives and works in North Dakota but fails to register is $100. The fine for someone living in the state but not working in the state is $20.

“It’s still a law and we still enforce it,” Coughlin said.

North Dakota makes an exception for military personnel, college students and daily commuters from neighboring states.

___

Information from: Minot Daily News, https://www.minotdailynews.com

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times is switching its third-party commenting system from Disqus to Spot.IM. You will need to either create an account with Spot.im or if you wish to use your Disqus account look under the Conversation for the link "Have a Disqus Account?". Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.

 

Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide