- Associated Press - Tuesday, November 7, 2017

JACKSON, Miss. (AP) - Three special elections for state legislative seats are on the ballot in Mississippi.

Polls are open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Tuesday.

Five candidates are running in Senate District 10 in parts of Marshall and Tate counties, where Democratic Sen. Bill Stone of Holly Springs resigned to take another government job.

Three people are on the ballot in House District 38 in parts of Clay, Lowndes and Oktibbeha counties. Longtime Democratic Rep. Tyrone Ellis of Starkville retired.

Three are running in House District 54 in parts of Warren and Yazoo counties. Republican Rep. Alex Monsour of Vicksburg left the House to become a city alderman.

If runoffs are needed, they will be Nov. 28.

Candidates in special elections run without party labels but frequently tell voters their political preference.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide