- Associated Press - Thursday, August 16, 2018

BATON ROUGE, La. (AP) - Louisiana’s State Bond Commission narrowly decided Thursday to prohibit two major banks from participating in an interstate financing deal. A 7-6 vote decided the issue, with most of the statewide elected officials on the panel and House members voting to exclude the banks and Gov. John Bel Edwards’ administration and senators voting against it.

A look at how commission members voted:


The seven Bond Commission members who voted to exclude the two banks were: Secretary of State Kyle Ardoin, R-Baton Rouge; Attorney General Jeff Landry, R-New Iberia; House Speaker Taylor Barras, R-New Iberia; Rep. Blake Miguez, R-Erath; Rep. Mike Huval, R-Breaux Bridge; Rep. Phillip DeVillier, R-Eunice; and Treasurer John Schroder, R-Covington.


The six Bond Commission members who voted not to exclude the banks were: Matthew Block, executive counsel for Democratic Gov. John Bel Edwards; Senate President John Alario, R-Westwego; Sen. Eric LaFleur, D-Ville Platte; Sen. Jay Luneau, D-Alexandria; Sen. John Smith, R-Leesville; and Rick McGimsey, executive counsel for Edwards’ Division of Administration.


Absent: Republican Lt. Gov. Billy Nungesser or his representative.

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Manage Newsletters

Copyright © 2021 The Washington Times, LLC.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide