- Associated Press - Wednesday, June 27, 2018

DES MOINES, Iowa (AP) - A commission will meet July 9 to evaluate 22 applications to fill a vacancy on the Iowa Supreme Court.

The nominating commission will select three finalists to replace Justice Bruce Zager, who will retire Sept. 3.

Gov. Kim Reynolds will have 30 days to make an appointment from among those finalists.

Written comments about the qualifications of applicants are being accepted through July 9. Information on the applicants is available from the Iowa Judicial Branch website .

The applicants are judges and attorneys living in Adel, Ames, Bettendorf, Cedar Rapids, Center Point, Corydon, Des Moines, Harlan, Iowa City, Lisbon, Sioux City, Tama, Waterloo and West Des Moines.

The nominating commission is comprised of eight lawyers elected by Iowa Bar Association members and eight non-lawyers appointed by the governor with Senate confirmation.

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide