- Associated Press - Friday, June 29, 2018

LANSING, Mich. (AP) - Michigan drivers will have to allow at least 3 feet of clearance or a “safe distance” while passing a bicyclist on the road under bills signed into law by Gov. Rick Snyder.

Snyder signed the legislation Friday. The laws take effect in 90 days.

One measure requires teen drivers to learn about laws pertaining to cyclists and other vulnerable roadway users for one hour as part of their initial driver education course.

Motorists will have to pass at least 3 feet to the right or left of a bike or, if it is impracticable to do so, pass at a safe distance at a safe speed.

The 3-foot distance requirement brings Michigan in line with many other states. Motorists in violation could face a traffic ticket.



Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.

 

Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide