- Associated Press - Tuesday, March 12, 2019

JACKSON, Miss. (AP) - Residents in three Mississippi House districts are voting Tuesday in nonpartisan special elections.

Troy D. Brown Sr. and Solomon Osborne are running in District 32 in Leflore County. Former Rep. Willie Perkins resigned, becoming a chancery judge.

Edelia J. Carthan, Ronnie Crudup Jr. and Stephanie Skipper are running in District 71 in Hinds County. Former Rep. Adrienne Wooten resigned, becoming a circuit judge.

Gary L. Crist, Kent McCarty, Steven Utroska, Daniel Waide and Andrew Waites are running in District 101 in Lamar County. Former Rep. Brad Touchstone resigned to become a youth court judge.

Perkins and Wooten served in the House as Democrats and Touchstone as a Republican. They won nonpartisan judicial races.

Runoffs, if needed, will be April 2.

Most of Tuesday’s candidates are running in August’s party primaries.

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide