By Associated Press - Saturday, May 2, 2020

COLUMBIA, S.C. (AP) - President Donald Trump has approved a disaster request from South Carolina Gov. Henry McMaster following tornadoes and severe weather that hit the state last month, according to a Saturday news release.

Nine people died in South Carolina as a result of the storms that occurred on April 12 and 13.

The declaration covers seven counties: Aiken, Colleton, Hampton, Marlboro, Oconee, Orangeburg and Pickens, state officials said.

Residents who suffered storm damage in those areas are eligible for storm-related costs not covered by insurance and can register for Federal Emergency Management Agency assistance online at, or by calling 800-621-3362.

Additionally, Trump approved federal assistance to state and local governments in Barnwell, Colleton, Georgetown, Hampton, Oconee, Orangeburg and Pickens counties for their recovery efforts.

Copyright © 2021 The Washington Times, LLC.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.

Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide