Continued from page 1

At the dinner, Mr. Bush will receive the Bishop John T. Walker Distinguished Humanitarian Service Award, named after the first black Episcopal bishop of Washington.

Previous recipients include President Clinton, President Nelson Mandela of South Africa, President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf of Liberia, former Secretary of State Colin L. Powell and Andrew Young, a former U.S. ambassador to the United Nations.

• Call Embassy Row at 202/636-3297, fax 202/832-7278 or e-mail jmorrison