Continued from page 1

“I’m a big reader of almanacs, or I was, and I like lists and things like that _ boy do I sound OCD,” he said backstage. “So I was awfully thrilled to be part of a list, a group, like this. The winning was really beyond.”

AMC’s “Mad Men” won the Emmy for best dramatic series for the third consecutive season. It’s a similar three-year winning streak for Bryan Cranston, who won best actor in a drama for his work as a teacher and meth dealer on AMC’s “Breaking Bad.” Cranston’s partner on the show, Aaron Paul, won his first Emmy for best supporting actor.

“It’s like having a great meal to do the show,” Cranston said backstage. “And then to be awarded an Emmy is a beautiful flambe dessert. And then last year was another dessert on top of that. I feel gluttonous. It’s more than I can take in.”

Wins almost seem routine for “Mad Men,” whose creator Matthew Weiner and Erin Levy, shared a writing award for drama series.

Weiner was listening to Levy’s acceptance speech but it went long, and he was visibly upset when the music cut off his own acceptance speech.

He had another chance, though, when “Mad Men” won the best drama series award.

“So where was I?” he slyly asked.

He seemed much more relaxed after the second trophy.

`I never feel like I’m rolling,” he said. “I’m in a terror and a free-fall every day.”

“Mad Men” and “Breaking Bad” are popular within the Hollywood audience. But broadcasters say their dramas still get a larger audience than those cable shows, and they’ve grumbled at the lack of attention their dramas receive. The new CBS drama “The Good Wife” and its star, Julianna Margulies, were seen as strong candidates to bring a broadcast network back into the winner’s circle for drama.

Yet it was passed by, except for Archie Panjabi, who won a supporting actress Emmy for her role as a private investigator. Kyra Sedgwick of TNT’s “The Closer” won best actress in a drama.

Emmy voters missed another opportunity: to make host NBC very uncomfortable.

Conan O’Brien’s short-lived “Tonight” show was nominated in the variety series category. It was seen as an affront when O’Brien was nominated and Jay Leno, the man he replaced, was not.

But O’Brien didn’t win. That award went to Comedy Central’s “The Daily Show,” which has won the category nine times since 2001.

No apologies from Rory Albanese, the show’s executive producer. “The category’s insane and we keep winning it. It’s tough to feel bad. We work really hard,” he said.

Story Continues →