Continued from page 1

By unanimous vote Tuesday, the new chairman starting next month is Thurgood Marshall Jr., a Washington lawyer, and the new vice chairman is Mickey D. Barnett, a New Mexico lawyer.

Though encouraged postal reform legislation is starting to work its way through Congress, Mr. Marshall added, “We are keenly aware that much more work needs to be done to get us across the goal line.”