Continued from page 2

Here’s another way to look at it.

After the Phoenix Open in 2010, the top eight in the standings were Steve Stricker, Dustin Johnson, Lucas Glover, Stewart Cink, Hunter Mahan, Tiger Woods, Phil Mickelson and Ben Crane. Only four of them _ Stricker, Johnson, Mahan and Mickelson _ qualified.

Three others who made the team _ Bubba Watson, Jim Furyk and Jeff Overton _ were not even among the top 25 in the standings. The other was Matt Kuchar, who was 13th at this time and wound up getting the final spot.


DIVOTS: Daniel Chopra had a day to remember at Pebble Beach during a practice round Monday. He made a hole-in-one on the seventh hole, and then made another ace on the 17th. … Karrie Webb, the only woman to capture the LPGA Tour’s “Super Slam” of five majors, was awarded honorary membership at Royal Melbourne Golf Club. … The USGA will award exemptions to the U.S. Open and the U.S. Women’s Open to the players who win the Mark H. McCormack medal as the leading amateur. That would be Patrick Cantlay (already eligible as the U.S. Amateur runner-up) and Lydia Ko, the 14-year-old from New Zealand who recently became the youngest winner of a tour event. … Valero has signed a six-year extension as the title sponsor of the Texas Open. The new deal takes the sponsorship through 2018. … The LPGA Tour added another marketing partner Tuesday by signing Volvik, a Korean golf ball company.


STAT OF THE WEEK: Adam Scott is the only player from among the top 20 in the world who has yet to play a tournament this year.


FINAL WORD: “I fear we would be eating our own children if we went to two sets of rules.” _ USGA president Glen Nager.