Continued from page 1

The opening of the Maryland Assembly also marked a pair of important milestones for two legislators.

House Speaker Michael E. Busch was sworn in as speaker for the 10th consecutive year, making him the state’s longest-serving speaker in history.

Sen. Norman R. Stone Jr., Baltimore County Democrat and the state’s longest-serving lawmaker, celebrated his 50th regular session in the legislature.

During a speech in the House, Mr. Busch, Anne Arundel Democrat, also recognized some of the House’s most tenured members, including Delegates Joseph F. Vallario Jr., Prince George’s Democrat, and Sheila E. Hixson, Montgomery Democrat, who joined the assembly in the mid-1970s.

“As I was preparing this presentation today, they said this is a good reason for term limits,” he quipped.

c• David Hill, David Sherfinski and Joseph Weber contributed to this report.