You are currently viewing the printable version of this article, to return to the normal page, please click here.

Tuning In to TV: Britain leads nominations for International Emmys

- - Monday, October 8, 2012

British television productions received a leading seven International Emmy nominations Monday, including best actor and best actress nods for Jason Isaacs in "Case Histories" and newcomer Joanna Vanderham in "The Runaway," the Associated Press reports.

Mr. Isaacs, best known for playing the villainous Lucius Malfoy in the Harry Potter films, was nominated for his role in the series based on Kate Atkinson's crime mystery novels in which he portrays Jackson Brodie, an Edinburgh, Scotland-based, tough-but-empathetic private detective with a tragic past.

Miss Vanderham, who was plucked out of the Royal Welsh College of Music and Drama to make her professional debut in "The Runaway," plays a young girl who grows up on the streets of London's sleazy Soho district in the '60s and '70s and has a doomed romance with a childhood sweetheart.

Britain had two nominees for best comedy: the Jennifer Saunders-Joanna Lumley sitcom "Absolutely Fabulous," which returned for three specials to mark its 20th anniversary; and "Spy" about a single father accidentally recruited as a trainee spy for MI5.

The other British nominees included "Queen: Days of Our Lives" (arts programming), "Terry Pratchett: Choosing to Die" (documentary) and "Black Mirror" (TV movie/miniseries).

Brazil got five nominations, all for TV Globo productions, including "The Good Men" for TV movie/miniseries and "The Invisible Woman" for comedy.

Argentina's four nominations included two acting nods for the On TV miniseries "Television por la Inclusion" about problems related to social exclusion and inclusion. Dario Grandinetti, who starred in the Pedro Almodovars film "Talk to Her," was nominated for his portrayal of a xenophobic taxi driver, and Cristina Banegas, an award-winning theater, film and TV actress, was recognized for her role as the mother of a girl with Down syndrome who fights for her daughter's rights.

Singapore's "The Kitchen Musical," a music-dance drama revolving around the story of a young girl fresh out of a Parisian culinary school who goes to work in her father's famous restaurant, received two nominations, including for best drama series. Filipino Arthur Acuna got a best actor nomination for his role as the restaurant's general manager.

"The Kitchen Musical" will be competing for best drama with France's "Braquo," Hong Kong's "ICAC Investigators 2011," Australia's "The Slap" and Argentina's "The Social Leader." The other contender for comedy series is Belgium's "What If?"

A total of 40 nominees from 15 countries will compete in nine categories for International Emmys, which honor excellence in TV programming outside the U.S. The winners will be announced Nov. 19 at a ceremony at the Hilton New York Hotel.

Singapore and China/Hong Kong had three nominations each, followed by Australia, France, Germany, Japan, Portugal and South Korea with two each. Belgium, Denmark, Norway and Spain each got a single nomination.

DeVito, Perlman marriage in trouble after 30 years

Danny DeVito and Rhea Perlman are breaking up.

A spokesman for Mr. DeVito said the couple is separating after 30 years of marriage. According to The Associated Press, publicist Stan Rosenfield offered no other details.

Mr. DeVito and Miss Perlman married in 1982 and have three adult children. The couple worked together on TV's "Taxi" from 1978 to 1982.

Together, the couple established the production company Jersey Films, which counts "Pulp Fiction," "Erin Brockovich" and "Out of Sight" among its credits.

Mr. DeVito stars in TV's "It's Always Sunny in Philadelphia." Miss Perlman is best known for her long-running role on "Cheers."

Bear Grylls of 'Man vs. Wild' working on series for NBC

Bear Grylls soon will have some company on his in-the-wild adventures.

According to the Associated Press, NBC said Monday that it is making a competition series with Mr. Grylls. He is the former star of Discovery's "Man vs. Wild" series that tested his survival skills in foreboding settings.

The NBC series "Get Out Alive" is planned for airing next summer. In it, Mr. Grylls will guide two teams in adventures. He said competitors will learn survival skills and teamwork but will have to suffer some pain before being rewarded in the end.

Mr. Grylls is co-producing the series with Electus, the studio run by former NBC entertainment chief Ben Silverman.

'Girls' creator Lena Dunham inks seven-figure book deal

"Girls" creator Lena Dunham has a seven-figure book deal with Random House.

The 26-year-old Miss Dunham, who received Emmy nominations as producer, director, writer and actor for the HBO comedy, has an agreement for the essay collection "Not That Kind of Girl: A Young Woman Tells You What She's Learned."

"In the tradition of Helen Gurley Brown, David Sedaris and Nora Ephron, Dunham's book will offer frank and funny advice on everything from sex to eating to traveling to work," Random House said in an announcement Monday, according to The Associated Press. Miss Dunham said in a statement that she was eager "to produce the most thoughtful and personal book" she could.

Random House spokeswoman Theresa Zoro said that no publication date has been set.

Numerous publishers bid for the book. Random House declined to offer financial details, but several competitors have said bidding exceeded $3.5 million.

Compiled from wire reports