California passes minimum wage hike to $10 an hour
Go West, young man — that’s where the minimum wage money is, as California lawmakers on Friday passed a bill that raises the rate of pay for the most menial jobs.
It’s now $10 an hour, and will be phased in over the next three years, making it the best-paying minimum wage state in the nation, The Associated Press reported. The state’s existing minimum wage is $8 an hour.
Washington was the highest minimum wage paying state, at $9.19 per hour. Federal law sets a minimum wage of $7.25 per hour, AP reported.
Some cities in California, such as San Francisco, already offered more than the minimum $8 demanded by state law. The bill was passed legislators on a party-line vote, with the Chamber of Commerce calling it out as an economic drain.
“We have tagged it as a job killer, given the increased costs businesses will be faced with,” said Jennifer Barrera, a spokeswoman for the Chamber, prior to the legislators’ vote, AP reported.
Gov. Jerry Brown still has to sign the minimum wage measure for it to take effect, but he’s already stated his support.
© Copyright 2013 The Washington Times, LLC. Click here for reprint permission.