- The Washington Times - Friday, April 3, 2009


Wizards forward Antawn Jamison was named the Southeast Division’s winner of the 2008-09 NBA Sportsmanship Award. He’s a finalist for the leaguewide honor, and the winner will be announced after the regular season.

A seven-member panel of former NBA players selected Jamison. The other division winners are Boston’s Ray Allen, Denver’s Chauncey Billups, Detroit’s Antonio McDyess, Golden State’s Ronny Turiaf and San Antonio’s Michael Finley.

“It does mean something to me, for people to think of me as not just a player. But I think it speaks volumes of how I carry myself off the court,” Jamison said. “Grant Hill won it last year, so to be up there with him, it just says that I’ve been able to not just do everything right on the court, but also represent the game of basketball the way it was meant to be represented as a person.”

Jamison, in his 11th season in the NBA, entered Thursday as the Wizards‘ leader in points (22.4) and rebounds (9.0).

— Mike Jones


“We wouldn’t be the Wizards if we didn’t have at least one issue — this year at least.”

— Interim coach Ed Tapscott on his team losing another player — backup point guard Javaris Crittenton (back spasms) — to injury


280 Games combined that Wizards players have missed because of injury this season.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC. Click here for reprint permission.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times is switching its third-party commenting system from Disqus to Spot.IM. You will need to either create an account with Spot.im or if you wish to use your Disqus account look under the Conversation for the link "Have a Disqus Account?". Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide