- Associated Press - Monday, August 30, 2010

NEW YORK (AP) - Lynn Nottage and Will Eno are the first recipients of the Horton Foote Prize for excellence in American theater.

Nottage’s “Ruined” was named outstanding new American play, and Eno’s “Middletown” was named promising new American play. Their selection was announced Monday.

Nottage and Eno will be honored Sept. 20 in New York City. Each playwright will receive $15,000 and a photograph of Foote, a Pulitzer Prize-winning playwright and screenwriter. He died last year at 92.

Fifty-four resident U.S. theaters were invited to nominate a play. Nottage was nominated by the Manhattan Theatre Club. Eno was nominated by the Vineyard Theater.

The award will be presented every two years. The prizes are funded by the Greg and Mari Marchbanks Family Foundation.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide