- Associated Press - Tuesday, July 13, 2010

MEMPHIS, TENN. (AP) - A civil rights activist, a Nobel Peace Prize winner and an actress have been named winners of this year’s Freedom Awards.

The awards from the National Civil Rights Museum in Memphis, Tenn., were announced Tuesday and will be given out in an Oct. 6 ceremony.

Honoree Dorothy Cotton was the education director of the Southern Christian Leadership Conference from 1960 to 1968 and was at the Lorraine Motel in Memphis when Martin Luther King Jr. was fatally shot on April 4, 1968.

Wangari Maathai of Kenya founded the Green Belt Movement, which has helped plant more than 40 million trees at farms, schools and churches. She won the Nobel Peace Prize in 2004.

Actress Eva Longoria Parker founded Eva’s Heroes, a charity that helps developmentally disabled children.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide