- Associated Press - Thursday, November 18, 2010

CHICAGO (AP) - The Mystery Writers of America has chosen Chicago author Sara Paretsky to receive the group’s top honor next year.

The group announced Thursday that it would present Paretsky its Grand Master award in April in New York. The award is among the Edgar Awards the group presents annually. The Grand Master award was established to acknowledge an author’s important contributions to the genre.

Paretsky created feisty female private detective V.I. Warshawski in the 1982 novel “Indemnity Only.” Her latest book, “Body Work,” was released earlier this year and is the 14th installment in the Warshawski series.

The mystery writers’ group says Warshawski challenged a genre where “women typically played minor or passive roles.” Past winners have included authors Agatha Christie, Alfred Hitchcock and Stephen King.


Online: https://www.mysterywriters.org








Click to Read More

Click to Hide