- Associated Press - Friday, September 24, 2010

NEW YORK (AP) - The committee that awards the Dorothy and Lillian Gish Prize has announced that Nigerian-born writer Chinua Achebe (CHIN’-wah ah-CHAH’-bay) is this year’s winner.

Achebe is author of the 1958 novel “Things Fall Apart,” which has sold 10 million copies worldwide. He has published more than 20 other volumes of short stories, essays and poetry.

The Gish Prize, now in its 17th year, recognizes leading artists in such fields as drama, music and dance, as well as literature. Achebe joins past winners including Bob Dylan, Arthur Miller and Robert Redford.

Totaling $300,000 from silent film stars Dorothy and Lillian Gish, the Gish Prize is one of the largest and most prestigious awards in the arts.




Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide