By Associated Press - Monday, April 18, 2011

NEW YORK | The Los Angeles Times won a Pulitzer Prize for public service Monday for a series revealing that politicians in the struggling working-class city of Bell, Calif., were paying themselves enormous six-figure salaries.

The newspaper’s reporting that officials in the 37,000-resident town were jacking up property taxes and other fees in part to cover the huge salaries led to arrests and the ouster of some of Bell’s top officials.

The Times won a second Pulitzer, for feature photography. The New York Times was awarded two Pulitzers, for international reporting and for commentary.

But in a year in which the earthquake in Haiti and the disastrous Gulf oil spill were among the biggest stories, the Pulitzer Prize Board decided not to give an award in the category of breaking news — a first in the 95-year history of the most prestigious prize in journalism.

“No entry received the necessary majority,” said Sig Gissler, administrator of the prizes. He wouldn’t elaborate except to say that breaking news is a “deadline-driven category” that depends on news organizations’ reporting of an event the moment it happens.

The board named three finalists for the award: the Chicago Tribune for coverage of the deaths of two Chicago firefighters, the Miami Herald and El Nuevo Herald for reporting on the Haiti earthquake and the Tennessean for coverage of a devastating flood.

A cheer went up and cameras flashed when the awards were announced in the Los Angeles Times newsroom, where about 100 people were gathered.

“The real victors in this are the people of Bell, who were able to get rid of, there’s no other way to say it, an oppressive regime,” said reporter Jeff Gottlieb, clutching a bottle of champagne.

The newspaper has been hobbled by the troubles of its owner, Tribune Co., which has been operating under federal bankruptcy protection for the past two years. Tribune Co. has been trying to shed most of the debt it took on in an $8.2 billion buyout engineered by real estate mogul Sam Zell. The Times also went through wrenching staff cutbacks before and after the bankruptcy filing, plus other turmoil in the newsroom.

In other awards, the nonprofit ProPublica won its first outright Pulitzer for national reporting. Reporters Jesse Eisinger and Jake Bernstein were cited for their piece exposing questionable Wall Street practices that contributed to the economic meltdown. The judges cited their use of digital media to help explain the complex subject.

Graphics and videos also accompanied the Milwaukee Journal Sentinel’s winning entry in explanatory reporting, an account of the use of genetic technology to save a 4-year-old boy from a mysterious disease.

Over the years, the Pulitzer Board has declined 25 other times to give awards in particular categories, but this is the first year that no award was handed out for breaking news — long considered the bread and butter of daily journalism.

Paige St. John of Florida’s Sarasota Herald-Tribune was awarded the Pulitzer for investigative reporting for her examination of the property insurance system for Florida homeowners, which led to regulatory action.

Frank Main, Mark Konkol and John J. Kim of the Chicago Sun-Times won in the local reporting category for their documentation of crime-ridden Chicago neighborhoods.

Amy Ellis Nutt of the Star-Ledger of Newark, N.J., received the Pulitzer for feature writing for her story of the sinking of a commercial fishing boat that drowned six men in the Atlantic Ocean.

Clifford J. Levy and Ellen Barry of the New York Times won for international reporting for their coverage of the Russian justice system; David Leonhardt won for the newspaper in commentary for his columns on the economy.

Sebastian Smee of the Boston Globe received the award for criticism for his writing about art. Joseph Rago of the Wall Street Journal was honored in the editorial writing category for his editorials challenging health care reform bills.

The Washington Post won in breaking-news photography for its portraits from the Haiti earthquake.

The Los Angeles Times’ Barbara Davidson received the award for feature news photography for her portraits of Los Angeles gang violence. Mike Keefe of the Denver Post won for editorial cartooning.

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Manage Newsletters

Copyright © 2021 The Washington Times, LLC.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide