- Associated Press - Tuesday, August 30, 2011

STOCKHOLM (AP) - American string quartet Kronos Quartet and rocker Patti Smith have received the prestigious 2011 Polar Music Prize from Sweden’s King Carl XVI Gustaf.

The musicians accepted their awards at a glitzy ceremony in Stockholm on Tuesday. Each award is worth 1 million kronor ($159,000).

A moved Smith said she was “humbled and inspired” to receive the award. She thanked her family and band members and appealed to the audience to “turn their hearts and minds and resources” toward the famine in Africa.

The Polar Music Prize is typically shared each year by a pop artist and a classical musician. It was founded by the manager of Sweden’s legendary pop group ABBA, Stig Anderson, in 1989.

Previous laureates include Pink Floyd, Joni Mitchell, Bjork and Sir Paul McCartney.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide