- Associated Press - Monday, December 12, 2011

NEW YORK (AP) - Five debut novels are finalists for the American Library Association’s William C. Morris award for young adult writers who have never published before.

The nominees were announced Monday. They include Rae Carson’s “Girl of Fire and Thorns,” Jenny Hubbard’s “Paper Covers Rock,” Guadalupe Garcia McCall’s “Under the Mesquite,” Ruta Sepetys’ (ROO’-tuh seh-PEH’-tees) “Between Shades of Gray” and John Corey Whaley’s “Where Things Come Back.”

The winner will be announced Jan. 23 at the library association’s midwinter meeting in Dallas. There is no cash prize.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide