- Associated Press - Thursday, December 29, 2011

NEW YORK (AP) - The NBA says Miami’s Dwyane Wade did not travel before his shot that beat Charlotte on Wednesday night.

Wade banked in a short jumper with 2.9 seconds left, and the Heat held on for a 96-95 victory. Because he appeared to make an extra move forward between stopping and releasing the ball, there was speculation he should have been called for a traveling violation.

But spokesman Tim Frank explains Thursday that: “Wade gathers the ball with his right foot on the floor, and step one is when both feet touch the floor simultaneously. He then steps with his right foot for step two.”

A video explanation of the play is posted at https://www.nba.com/official.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times is switching its third-party commenting system from Disqus to Spot.IM. You will need to either create an account with Spot.im or if you wish to use your Disqus account look under the Conversation for the link "Have a Disqus Account?". Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide