- Associated Press - Sunday, January 2, 2011

The Atlanta Falcons and Pittsburgh Steelers have won division championships with final-game victories.

Atlanta (13-3) won the NFC South and earned home-field advantage throughout the playoffs Sunday with a 31-10 rout of Carolina (2-14). The Falcons get a bye, then open their postseason the weekend of Jan. 15-16 in the Georgia Dome.

Defending Super Bowl champion New Orleans becomes a wild card and will play at the NFC West winner, either St. Louis or Seattle, next weekend.

The Steelers (12-4) took the AFC North with a 41-9 romp at Cleveland (5-11). They edged Baltimore in the division, making the Ravens a wild card. Pittsburgh is the No. 2 seed behind New England in the AFC and will have a bye next weekend.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide