- Associated Press - Sunday, July 10, 2011

DETROIT (AP) - Dave Villwock has become the hydroplane series’ all-time winningest driver with a victory at the Gold Cup in Detroit.

Villwock overcame some early adversity by notching his 63rd career race victory Sunday on the Detroit River.

The 57-year-old collected his ninth Gold Cup trophy and his fourth consecutive. He breaks a mark held by Bill Muncey, who had 62 career victories and eight Gold Cup wins. Muncey died in 1981.

Once known as the APBA, the series now is called the Air National Guard Hydroplane Series.

Dave Villwock had a speed of 138.807 mph. Scott Liddycoat was second at 131.360 mph, followed by Jeff Bernard at 129.239 mph.



Click to Read More

Click to Hide