- Associated Press - Wednesday, July 13, 2011

COLORADO SPRINGS, COLO. (AP) - Six of the top college hockey programs will become the National Collegiate Hockey Conference at the start of the 2013-14 season.

NCAA champion Minnesota Duluth, Colorado College, Denver, Nebraska-Omaha and North Dakota of the Western Collegiate Hockey Association will join current Central Collegiate Hockey Association member Miami of Ohio, the schools announced Wednesday.

The priorities for the conference include hiring a commissioner and adding new members. North Dakota athletic director Brian Faison says the league is interested adding Notre Dame and there have been conversations with the school.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide