- Associated Press - Monday, March 7, 2011

GOODYEAR, ARIZ. (AP) - Michael Brantley, likely Cleveland’s Opening Day center fielder, is among 25 players signed to one-year contracts by the Indians on Monday.

Starting catcher Carlos Santana and right-handers Josh Tomlin and Jeanmar Gomez are the only unsigned players on Cleveland’s 40-man roster. Tomlin and Gomez are battling for a rotation spot.

Brantley, part of the trade that sent CC Sabathia to Milwaukee in June 2008, has the inside track to start as veteran Grady Sizemore recovers from microfracture surgery on his left knee.

Also signed were catcher Lou Marson; right-handers Carlos Carrasco, Frank Herrmann, Josh Judy, Corey Kluber, Justin Masterson, Zach McAllister, Vinnie Pestano, Hector Rondon, Mitch Talbot and Jess Todd; left-handers Kelvin De La Cruz, Nick Hagadone, David Huff and Tony Sipp; infielders Jason Donald, Jared Goedert, Matt LaPorta, Jayson Nix and Luis Valbuena; and outfielders Ezequiel Carrera, Trevor Crowe, Shelley Duncan and Nick Weglarz.

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Manage Newsletters

Copyright © 2020 The Washington Times, LLC.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide