- Associated Press - Thursday, October 20, 2011

NEW YORK (AP) - Abby Wambach has added another accolade to her long list of honors.

She was selected Sportswoman of the Year by the Women’s Sports Foundation on Wednesday night.

Wambach led the U.S. with four goals at the World Cup in Germany, where the Americans lost to Japan on penalty kicks in the final. She now has 13 career World Cup goals, placing her third on the all-time scoring list.

Top-ranked golfer Yani Tseng won in the individual category. Tseng is a six-time LPGA Tour winner this season. She became the youngest player _ male or female _ to win five majors when she won the Women’s British Open in July.

The U.S. Women’s Ski Jumping team won the Wilma Rudolph Courage Award, and 12-year-old Winter Vinecki won the Annika Sorenstam Inspiration Award. Vinecki runs triathlons to raise awareness of prostate cancer in honor of her late father.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide