- Associated Press - Tuesday, October 25, 2011

NEW YORK (AP) - Ten emerging writers including a novelist in New York City and a poet in Casa Grande, Ariz., are among this year’s winners of the Whiting Writers’ Awards.

The prize is worth $50,000 per winner. It’s given out annually to writers of "exceptional talent and promise."

The recipients announced Tuesday include Manhattan-based novelist Teddy Wayne and fellow fiction writers Ryan Call, Scott Blackwood and Daniel Orozco. Arizona’s Eduardo C. Corral was among four poets cited, along with Don Mee Choi, Kerri Webster and Shane McCrae. The other winners were nonfiction author Paul Clemens and playwright Amy Herzog.

Previous Whiting winners include Jonathan Franzen, Tony Kushner and Jeffrey Eugenides.

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Manage Newsletters

Copyright © 2021 The Washington Times, LLC.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide