- The Washington Times - Wednesday, September 14, 2011

Major League Baseball announced the 2012 schedule Wednesday morning and for the Nationals it features a season opener in the Windy City, a visit from the New York Yankees and trips to Boston and Toronto during interleague play. The Nationals will open next season on April 5 at Wrigley Field against the Chicago Cubs.

They’ll depart from Viera, Fla., and start the season on a six-game, seven-day road trip to Chicago and New York, facing the Mets April 9-11 at Citi Field. The Nationals will return home for the Nationals Park opener on April 12 against Cincinnati in an 11-game homestand that features four with the Reds, four against the Houston Astros and three against the newly-renamed Miami Marlins.

Interleague for the Nationals next year will put them against the American League East, including three weekend games at home against the New York Yankees June 15-17. They’ll also welcome the Tampa Bay Rays and the Baltimore Orioles, travel to Fenway Park June 8-10 to face the Red Sox and to face the Blue Jays in Toronto June 11-13. The dates for the Nationals’ Beltway series with the Orioles will be in Baltimore June 22-24 and in Washington May 18-20.

Their first west coast trip will take them to San Diego and Los Angeles immediately after their first homestand. They’ll also go west for a 10-game trip from Aug. 6-15 when they travel to Houston, Arizona and San Francisco.

The Nationals will play at home against the Giants on July 4 and on Labor Day against the Cubs. They end the season with three games at home against the Philadelphia Phillies October 1-3.

The full schedule is below:

Apr. 5, 7-8          at Chicago Cubs
Apr. 9-11            at N.Y. Mets
Apr. 12-15          Cincinnati
Apr. 16-19          Houston
Apr. 20-22          Miami
Apr. 24-26          at San Diego
Apr. 27-29          at L.A. Dodgers
May 1-3              Arizona
May 4-6              Philadelphia
May 8-10            at Pittsburgh
May 11-13          at Cincinnati
May 14-15          San Diego
May 16-17          Pittsburgh
May 18-20          Baltimore
May 21-23          at Philadelphia
May 25-27          at Atlanta
May 28-30          at Miami
June 1-3             Atlanta
June 5-8             N.Y. Mets
June 8-10            at Boston
June 11-13          at Toronto
June 15-17          N.Y. Yankees
June 19-21          Tampa Bay
June 22-24          at Baltimore
June 25-28          at Colorado
June 29-July 1     at Atlanta
July 3-5              San Francisco
July 6-8              Colorado
July 9-12            ALL-STAR BREAK
July 13-16           at Miami
July 17-19           N.Y. Mets
July 20-22           Atlanta
July 23-25           at N.Y. Mets
July 26-29           at Milwaukee
July 31-Aug. 2     Philadelphia
Aug. 3-5              Miami
Aug. 6-9              at Houston
Aug. 10-12          at Arizona
Aug. 13-15          at San Francisco
Aug. 17-19          N.Y. Mets
Aug. 20-22          Atlanta
Aug. 24-26          at Philadelphia
Aug. 28-29          at Miami
Aug. 30-Sept. 2   St. Louis
Sept. 3-6             Chicago Cubs
Sept. 7-9             Miami
Sept. 10-12         at N.Y. Mets
Sept. 14-16         at Atlanta
Sept. 18-20         L.A. Dodgers
Sept. 21-24         Milwaukee
Sept. 25-27         at Philadelphia
Sept. 28-30         at St. Louis
Oct. 1-3              Philadelphia

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC. Click here for reprint permission.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide