- Associated Press - Wednesday, September 14, 2011

LOS ANGELES (AP) - Supreme Court Justice Stephen Breyer has a new judging gig where he’ll be focusing on matters architectural rather than constitutional.

Organizers of the Pritzker Architecture Prize _ often referred to as the Nobel Prize for building design _ announced Wednesday that Breyer and British architect Zaha Hadid were joining the jury that picks the award’s annual winner.

The Hyatt Foundation, which sponsors the prize, praised Breyer’s long interest in art and architecture and noted his work on the forward to a book about courthouse design.

It also called Hadid, a previous recipient of the prize, one of the era’s most gifted architects.

This year’s Pritzker laureate is Portuguese architect Eduardo Souto de Moura. Other past recipients include Frank Gehry, Tadao Ando, Renzo Piano and I.M. Pei.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times is switching its third-party commenting system from Disqus to Spot.IM. You will need to either create an account with Spot.im or if you wish to use your Disqus account look under the Conversation for the link "Have a Disqus Account?". Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide