- The Washington Times - Friday, August 24, 2012

Ten players and coaches were added to the greatest list of Washington Redskins on Friday as part of the team’s 80th anniversary celebration.

Linebacker LaVar Arrington, general manager Bobby Beathard, offensive line coach Joe Bugel, tackle Terry Hermeling, tackle Jon Jansen, receiver Roy Jefferson, defensive coordinator/safety Richie Petitbon, running back Clinton Portis, tackle Chris Samuels and safety Sean Taylor joined the 10-year-old list of 70 greatest Redskins in a culmination of the team’s “10 for 80” campaign.

The Redskins also gave out their 2011 player awards at the annual Welcome Home Luncheon at a downtown hotel.

Tight end Fred Davis was named offensive player of the year despite a drug suspension that kept him out the final four games. Linebacker London Fletcher was the defensive player of the year, and linebacker Lorenzo Alexander won the award for special teams.

Linebacker Brian Orakpo won the team’s community service award. Fullback Darrel Young won the inaugural Call to Service award, given by the USAA. Young, whose brother is in the Army, visited troops in Honduras and Afghanistan during the offseason.

Arrington (2000-05) earned three consecutive Pro Bowl selections from 2001-03, setting different single-season career highs in each year — interceptions in 2001 (three), sacks in 2002 (11.0) and forced fumbles in 2003 (six).

Beathard (1978-89) oversaw the Redskins’ roster during the team’s ascent to Super Bowl prominence. In Beathard’s 12 seasons as general manager, the team won 126 combined regular season and postseason games, more than any other NFL franchise.

Bugel (1981-89, 2004-09) coached the vaunted “Hogs” offensive lines that anchored the Redskins’ first two Super Bowl championship teams.

Hermeling (1970-80) appeared in 120 regular season games in his 11 seasons with Washington, blocking for backs such as Larry Brown and John Riggins.

Jansen (1999-2008) started 123 of 126 career regular season games. He and Samuels formed one of the league’s top tackle duos in the early 2000s. Both played a pivotal role in helping Portis set a team record for rushing yards in a single season in 2005 (1,516).

Jefferson (1971-76) had 208 receptions for 3,119 receiving yards and 16 receiving touchdowns as a Redskin. During his six-year tenure, he was second only to Hall of Famer Charley Taylor for the team lead in receptions and receiving yards.

Petitbon (safety, 1971-72; defensive coordinator 1981-92) is one of three members of the organization to have appeared in all five of the team’s Super Bowl appearances as either a player or coach. Last year, the Redskins’ head coach for the 1993 season was the 45th person inducted into the team’s Ring of Fame.

Portis (2004-10) compiled 6,824 rushing yards with the Redskins, the second-most in team history. His 1,516 rushing yards in 2005 and 1,487 in 2008 are the two greatest single-season rushing totals in team history.

Samuels (2000-09) started every single one of the 141 regular games and three playoff games in which he appeared. He is one of five players in Redskins history to be selected to at least six Pro Bowls.

Taylor (2004-07) was a rising star at the time of his murder in 2007. The No. 5 overall pick in the 2004 NFL Draft twice earned Pro Bowl honors, including becoming the league’s first posthumous selection in 2007. He had 12 interceptions and eight forced fumbles in his 57 career combined regular season and postseason games.

• Rich Campbell can be reached at rcampbell@washingtontimes.com.

Copyright © 2022 The Washington Times, LLC. Click here for reprint permission.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.

Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide