- Associated Press - Friday, July 6, 2012

OAKVILLE, ONTARIO (AP) - Canada’s premier golf tournament is returning to Glen Abbey Golf Club in 2013.

Officials announced Friday that the course will host the RBC Canadian Open for the 26th time, and for the first time since 2009, on July 22-28, 2013.

Past Glen Abbey champions include Greg Norman, Nick Price and Tiger Woods. Woods won the 2000 tournament with a 216-yard 6-iron shot that landed on the green on the 18th hole.

This year’s tournament is at Hamilton Golf and Country Club from July 23-29.

The last Canadian to win the Canadian Open was Pat Fletcher in 1954. No Canadian has won the tournament at Glen Abbey, but Mike Weir lost in a playoff to Vijay Singh in 2004.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times is switching its third-party commenting system from Disqus to Spot.IM. You will need to either create an account with Spot.im or if you wish to use your Disqus account look under the Conversation for the link "Have a Disqus Account?". Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More

Click to Hide