- Associated Press - Thursday, May 10, 2012

ANAHEIM, Calif. — The Anaheim Ducks signed coach Bruce Boudreau to a two-year contract extension through 2014-15.

Anaheim rewarded Boudreau on Thursday for reviving the struggling Ducks after taking charge Nov. 30.

The Ducks went 27-23-8 after Boudreau replaced the fired Randy Carlyle, compiling one of the NHL’s best records after the All-Star break.

Two days before he took over in Anaheim, Boudreau was fired by the Washington Capitals, who won the 2010 Presidents’ Trophy during his four seasons in charge.

Boudreau won the 2008 Jack Adams Award as the NHL’s top coach. He is 228-111-48 in his NHL coaching career with Anaheim and Washington, winning 200 games faster than any coach in modern league history.

Salvador unlikely scorer for Devils

NEWARK, N.J. | The Stanley Cup playoffs usually produce a couple of unlikely heroes. Count New Jersey veteran defenseman Bryce Salvador as one.

Stuck without a goal in the regular season, Salvador has discovered a postseason scoring touch, and has been a key cog in helping the Devils reach the Eastern Conference finals for the first time since 2003.

After missing last season with an inner-ear concussion, the 36-year-old scored twice as the Devils ousted the Philadelphia Flyers in five games in Round 2. Not bad for someone who had 23 career goals in 692 regular-season games across a decade-long NHL career.

New Jersey, the No. 6 seed with 102 points in the regular season, will play either the New York Rangers or the Washington Capitals in Round 3 next week.

Around the league

WILD: Minnesota Wild signed defenseman Clayton Stoner to a two-year, $2.1 million contract extension. Stoner, 27, is one member of a rebuilding defense corps that the Wild hopes to improve in front of goaltender Niklas Backstrom next season.

STARS: Bob Gainey is returning to Dallas as a senior advisor. Gainey was the general manager of the Stars when they won their only Stanley Cup in 1999, then went back to the finals a year later. He was the coach from 1990-96 and GM from 1992-2000, leading Dallas to seven consecutive playoff berths and five division titles.



Click to Read More

Click to Hide