- Associated Press - Wednesday, May 9, 2012

MADRID (AP) - Architect Rafael Moneo has been named the winner of Spain’s Prince of Asturias arts award in 2011.

Moneo is one of Spain’s most prestigious architects whose works include the Los Angeles Cathedral and the Atocha railway station in Madrid.

The Prince of Asturias Foundation said Moneo’s “work enriched urban space with a serene and meticulously tidy architecture.”

The prize was announced Wednesday as Moneo turned 75. He already won the Pritzker Architecture Prize in 1996.

Eight Asturias prizes are awarded each year covering the arts, human rights, sciences and sports.

They include a (EURO)50,000 ($65,000) cash award and a sculpture by Joan Miro. They are presented by Spain’s crown prince each autumn in Oviedo.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times is switching its third-party commenting system from Disqus to Spot.IM. You will need to either create an account with Spot.im or if you wish to use your Disqus account look under the Conversation for the link "Have a Disqus Account?". Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More

Click to Hide