- Associated Press - Monday, October 8, 2012

NEW YORK (AP) - “Girls” creator Lena Dunham has a seven-figure book deal with Random House.

The 26-year-old Dunham, who received Emmy nominations as producer, director, writer and actor for the HBO comedy, has an agreement for the essay collection “Not That Kind of Girl: A Young Woman Tells You What She’s Learned.”

“In the tradition of Helen Gurley Brown, David Sedaris and Nora Ephron, Dunham’s book will offer frank and funny advice on everything from sex to eating to traveling to work,” Random House said in an announcement Monday. Dunham said in statement that she was eager “to produce the most thoughtful and personal book” she could.

Random House spokeswoman Theresa Zoro said that no publication date has been set.

Numerous publishers bid for the book. Random House declined to offer financial details, but several competitors have said bidding exceeded $3.5 million.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times is switching its third-party commenting system from Disqus to Spot.IM. You will need to either create an account with Spot.im or if you wish to use your Disqus account look under the Conversation for the link "Have a Disqus Account?". Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.

 

Click to Read More

Click to Hide