- Associated Press - Friday, September 21, 2012

BRASILIA, BRAZIL (AP) - Brazil, South Africa, India and China are urging developed countries to adopt more ambitious goals to reduce global warming.

The four countries form the bloc known as BASIC and representatives on Friday ended a two-day meeting to define a common position ahead of November’s United Nations’ climate change conference in Doha.

BASIC acts jointly in international climate change meetings.

They say developed nations must assume stronger emission reduction commitments under the 1997 Kyoto Protocol that is aimed at stemming pollution and global warming. It has been opposed by the United States.

Chinese climate negotiator Xie Zenhua told reporters that while “developing countries are committed to reduce emissions of greenhouse gases by 70 percent, developed countries are committed to a 30 percent reduction.” He says that’s insufficient.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide