- The Washington Times - Wednesday, February 6, 2013

Eight Democratic governors have refused to recognize the Gipper’s birthday after a record 40 states joined the chorus to declare the Feb. 6 “Ronald Reagan Day.”

The proclamation is also a tribute to Grover Norquist, head of Americans for Tax Reform. Mr. Norquist heads the Ronald Reagan Legacy Project which asks the nation’s governors to set the day aside for Reagan, the Washington Examiner reports.

“Ronald Reagan led America forward to defeat the threats to our prosperity of high taxes, inflation and recession at home and a surging Soviet Empire abroad,” Mr. Norquist said. “He left America stronger, freer, and safer than the day he became president.”

Among the Democrats who refused to sign the proclamation are Mass. Gov. Deval Patrick, who recently appointed Mo Cowan to fill John Kerry’s seat as interim senator, and Hawaii Gov. Neil Abercrombie, who made the controversial decision to choose his lieutenant governor, Brian Schatz, to fill Sen. Daniel Inouye’s seat over the three finalists handed to him by the state’s Democratic Party.

Other Democratic governors who refused to recognize the late president’s 102nd birthday include: Ark. Gov. Mike Beebe, Del. Gov. Jack Markell, Ky. Gov. Steve Beshear, Minn. Gov. Mark Dayton, Ore. Gov. John Kitzhaber and Vt. Gov. Peter Shumlin.

Democrats Conn. Gov. Dannel Malloy and Wash. Gov. Jay Inslee are still on the fence about declaring “Ronald Reagan Day” in their states.

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC. Click here for reprint permission.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide