- Associated Press - Saturday, October 5, 2013

Tyrone Willingham, the former coach at Notre Dame, Washington and Stanford, is expected to be on the College Football Playoff selection committee next year, and former Nebraska coach Tom Osborne has also been asked to be part of the panel, a person with knowledge of the process told The Associated Press.

The person spoke Saturday on condition of anonymity because the 12-to-18 member panel being put together by conference commissioners has not been finalized.

ESPN first reported Willingham would be on the committee, and that Osborne would also be a member.

“I can’t say anything. I don’t think there’s been anything determined,” Osborne told the Lincoln (Neb.) Journal Star after the Conrhuskers’ 39-19 victory against Illinois at home Saturday.

BCS executive director Bill Hancock has declined to comment on the committee until it is finalized.

Osborne is one of the most successful coaches in college football history. He won 255 games and three national championships in 25 seasons leading Nebraska. He also was Nebraska athletic director for three years before retiring on Jan. 1.

Willingham went from Stanford to Notre Dame to Washington as head coach from 1995-2005. He had a record of 76-88-1.

With Willingham and Osborne, the number of committee members would be 13.

Other expected members that have been previously reported are:

_ Former Secretary of State Condoleezza Rice.

_Retired Lt. Gen. Michael Gould, the former superintendent of the Air Force Academy.

_Former NCAA vice president Tom Jernstedt.

_Former Mississippi and New Orleans Saints quarterback Archie Manning.

_Former Big East Commissioner Mike Trangehese

_Arkansas athletic director Jeff Long.

_West Virginia athletic director Oliver Luck.

_Clemson athletic director Dan Radakovich.

_Southern California athletic director Pat Haden.

_Wisconsin athletic director Barry Alvarez.

_Former USA Today college sports writer Steve Wieberg.

The committee could be officially announced by Nov. 11 when the conference commissioners meet in Washington.


Follow Ralph D. Russo at www.twitter.com/RalphDrussoAP

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times is switching its third-party commenting system from Disqus to Spot.IM. You will need to either create an account with Spot.im or if you wish to use your Disqus account look under the Conversation for the link "Have a Disqus Account?". Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide